2019-2020 TASSP Principals and Assistant Principal of the Year

Congratulations to the following Principals and Assistant Principals for being selected by the TASSP Principal Image Committee as the 2019-2020 Principals and Assistant Principals of the Year:

High School Principal of the Year & NASSP Representative for Texas
Jill Stafford, Principal
Lowery Freshman Center, Allen ISD – Region 10

Middle Level Principal of the Year
Ryan Bickley, Principal
Burnett Jr. High School, Wylie ISD – Region 10

Assistant Principal of the Year
Dr. Danielle Jackson, Assistant Principal
Thurgood Marshall High School, Fort Bend ISD – Region 4

High School Principal of the Year Finalists
Michael Alphin, Principal, Harmony High School, Harmony ISD – Region 7
Tamara McWilliams, Principal, Ozona High School, Ozona ISD – Region 15

Middle School Principal of the Year Finalists
Eric Lathan, Principal, Anthony Aguirre Jr. High School, Channelview ISD – Region 4
Pablo Vallejo IV, Principal, Hoge Middle School, Weslaco ISD – Region 1

Assistant Principal of the Year Finalists
Amy Araguz, Dean of Instruction, El Campo High School, El Campo ISD – Region 3
Ryan Barnhart, Assistant Principal, Northwest High School, Northwest ISD – Region 11

2019-2020 TASSP Region Principals and Assistant Principals of the Year:

1 • Mark Micallef, HS Principal, Edinburg North High School, Edinburg Cons. ISD
1 • Pablo Vallejo IV, MS Principal, Mary Hoge Middle School, Weslaco ISD
1 • Patricia Hinojosa, HS Assistant Principal, Lyndon B. Johnson High School, United ISD
1 • Edmundo Garcia, Jr., MS Assistant Principal, Bruni-Vergara Middle School, United ISD
2 • Elizabeth Perez, HS Principal, King High School, Corpus Christi ISD
2 • Sandy Salinas-DeLeon, MS Principal, Cunningham MS, (currently at Cunningham Middle School at South Park) Corpus Christi ISD
2 • Haley Kopplin, HS Assistant Principal, Three Rivers Jr./Sr. High School, Three Rivers ISD
3 • Dr. Patrick Talbert, HS Principal, Tidehaven High School (currently Asst. Supt, HS & JH) Tidehaven ISD
3 • Brandie Roe, MS Principal, Edna Jr. HS (currently Director of Curriculum & Instruction) Edna ISD
3 • Amy Araguz, HS Assistant Principal, (currently Dean of Instruction) El Campo High School, El Campo ISD
4 • Eric Lathan, MS Principal, Anthony Aguirre Jr. High School, Channelview ISD
4 • Dr. Danielle Jackson, HS Assistant Principal, Ridge Point HS (currently HS AP Thurgood Marshall High School) Fort Bend ISD
5 • Paul Trevino, HS Principal, Silsbee HS (currently MS P Huntsville Intermediate School) Huntsville ISD
5 • Kyle Hooper, MS Principal, Port Neches Middle School, Port Neches-Groves ISD
5 • Mike Brewster, HS Assistant Principal, (currently HS P) Buna High School, Buna ISD
5 • Christi Weber-Silcox, MS Assistant Principal, Henderson Middle School, Hardin-Jefferson ISD
6 • Derek Bowman, HS Principal, Navasota HS (currently Director of Personnel & Administrative Services) Navasota ISD
6 • Josh Symank, MS Principal, Oakwood Intermediate School, College Station ISD
6 • Michael McEver, HS Assistant Principal, A&M Consolidated High School, College Station ISD
6 • Rocco Grande, MS Assistant Principal, Oakwood Intermediate School, College Station ISD
7 • Michael Alphin, HS Principal, Harmony High School, Harmony ISD
7 • Richard Pride, MS Principal, Van Jr. HS (currently Deputy Dir. of Special Programs) Van ISD
8 • Jennifer Lance, HS Principal, McLeod High School, McLeod ISD
8 • Jena Williams, MS Principal, Sulphur Springs Middle School, Sulphur Springs ISD
8 • Tonya Briggs, HS Assistant Principal, New Boston High School, New Boston ISD
8 • Amy Adkins, MS Assistant Principal, Paris Jr. High School, Paris ISD
9 • Douglas Albus, HS Principal, Hirschi High School, Wichita Falls ISD
9 • Terry McCutchen, MS Principal, Henrietta Jr. High School, Henrietta ISD
9 • Jennifer Spurgers, HS Assistant Principal, Wichita Falls Career Edu Ctr, Wichita Falls ISD
9 • Adam Arredondo, MS Assistant Principal, WF George MS/Iowa Park CISD (currently P Seymour High School) Seymour ISD
10 • Jill Stafford, HS Principal, Lowery Freshman Center Allen ISD
10 • Ryan Bickley, MS Principal, Burnett Jr. High School, Wylie ISD
10 • Clint Cypert, HS Assistant Principal, Centennial High School, Frisco ISD
10 • Grace Roberts, MS Assistant Principal, Johnson Middle School, McKinney ISD
11 • Dr. Ron Myers, HS Principal, Byron Nelson High School, Northwest ISD
11 • Danny Knowles, MS Principal, Ed Willkie MS (currently MSP Marine Creek Middle School) Eagle Mountain-Saginaw ISD
11 • Ryan Barnhart, HS Assistant Principal, Northwest High School, Northwest ISD
11 • Sarah Butler, MS Assistant Principal, Hurst Jr. High School, Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD
12 • Jill Ross, HS Principal, Belton HS (currently HSP Lake Belton High School) Belton ISD
12 • Jess Wheeler, HS Associate Principal, Midway High School, Midway ISD
13 • Jason Valentine, HS Principal, Wimberley High School, Wimberley ISD
13 • Sheryl Wallace, MS Principal, Fredericksburg Middle School, Fredericksburg ISD
13 • Bryon Ellison, HS Associate Principal, Vista Ridge High School, Leander ISD
13 • Donna LeJeune, MS Assistant Principal, Cele MS, (currently P Faubion Elementary) Leander ISD
14 • Jaime Tindall, HS Principal, Woodson Ctr for Excellence, Abilene ISD
14 • Kathryn Walker, MS Principal, Mann Middle School, Abilene ISD
14 • Don Heseman, HS Assistant Principal, Woodson Ctr for Excellence (currently MSAP Craig Middle School) Abilene ISD
14 • Don Kuciemba, MS Assistant Principal, Clack Middle School, Abilene ISD
15 • Tamara McWilliams, HS Principal, Ozona High School, Ozona ISD
15 • Rikke Black, MS Principal, Lee MS (currently HSP Central Freshman High School) San Angelo ISD
15 • Scott Walters, HS Assistant Principal, Lake View High School, San Angelo ISD
16 • Dr. Lynn Pulliam, HS Principal, Canadian HS (currently Supt.) Canadian ISD
16 • Kurt Baxter, MS Principal, Dumas Junior High School, Dumas ISD
16 • Jennifer Mott, HS Assistant Principal, Boys Ranch High School, Boys Ranch ISD
16 • Mark Reasor, MS Assistant Principal, Bushland Middle School, Bushland ISD
17 • Miguel Salazar, HS Principal, Ralls High School, Ralls ISD
17 • Brenda Prather, MS Principal, Ralls Middle School, Ralls ISD
17 • Douglas Morris, HS Assistant Principal, Lamesa HS (currently Dir. of Federal & Special Programs) Lamesa ISD
17 • Brandi Savage, MS Assistant Principal, Frenship Middle School, Frenship ISD
18 • Stan VanHoozer, HS Principal, Robert E. Lee High School, Midland ISD
18 • Charles Quintela, MS Principal, Ector College Prep Success Academy, ESAN/Ector County ISD
18 • Misty Ring, HS Assistant Principal, Lee HS (currently Associate P Midland High School) Midland ISD
18 • Lori Mc Nicol, MS Assistant Principal, Goddard JH (currently AP Parker Elementary) Midland ISD
19 • Barbara Brinkley-Lopez, HS Principal, Transmountain Early College HS, El Paso ISD
19 • Lisa Estrada-Batson, MS Principal, Ensor Middle School, Socorro ISD
19 • Laron Sharp, HS Assistant Principal, Franklin High School, El Paso ISD
19 • Dr. Kristopher Johnson, MS Assistant Principal, Ricardo Estrada Middle School, Clint ISD
20 • Dana Gilbert-Perry, MS Principal, Vale Middle School, Northside ISD 

Thank you to the TASSP Principal Image Committee for reviewing the applications
and conducting personal interviews with the candidates in Austin on December 7th.

The TASSP Principal Image Committee Members:
Carlin Grammar, Chair Principal – La Porte HS 
Jae Gaskill, Vice Chair Principal – McKinney North HS 
Joe Gordy Principal – Graham HS 
Tim Lambert Principal – Texas MS 
April Harris Assistant Principal – Midway MS 
James Stewart Principal – Waco HS
Adriana Ramirez Principal – United South HS
Kathy Harmon Principal – Collins MS
Nachelle Scott Principal – Quest Early College HS
Gwen Elder Principal – A & M Consolidated HS


Congratulations again to all of these school leaders for being selected
as Principals and Assistant Principals of the Year and as finalists.